KC Is Prominent in Blues Blast Award Nominees!

The 2018 Blues Blast Award nominees were just announced today and KC folks will be thrilled to see area musicians nominated!

Samantha Fish: Female Blues Artist

Heather Newman: New Artist Debut Album and Sean Costello Rising Star Award

Danielle Nicole: Contemporary Blues Album and Female Blues Artist.

Patrick Recob: New Artist Debut Album

Nick Schnebelen: Live Blues Recording

It's tough to see folks go up against each other in the same categories but that goes to show you how lucky we are here to have an embarrassment of riches in talent.

Fan voting to determine the winners begins July 1, 2018 and continues until August 31, 2018 on the website at BluesBlastMagazine.com.

The 2018 Blues Blast Awards ceremonies will be held on September 29th, at Tebala Event Center in Rockford, Illinois. Tickets and complete information on lodging and directions are available at The Blues Blast Music Awards website at www.TheBBMAs.com.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Contemporary Blues Album

  • Victor Wainwright & The Train - Self Titled

  • Selwyn Birchwood - Pick Your Poison

  • Chis Cain - Self titled

  • Danielle Nicole - Cry No More

  • Bernard Allison - Let It Go

  • Jason Ricci & The Bad Kind - Approved By Snakes

Traditional Blues Album

  • The Nick Moss Band featuring Dennis Gruenling - The High Cost of Low Living

  • Kim Wilson - Blues And Boogie Vol 1

  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats - Groovin' In Greaseland

  • Oscar Wilson - One Room Blues

  • The Cash Box Kings - Royal Mint

  • Mud Morganfield - They Call Me Mud

Soul Blues Album

  • Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra - After A While

  • Johnny Rawls - Waiting For The Train

  • Bettye LaVette - Things Have Changed

  • Benny Turner - My Brother’s Blues

  • Markey Blues & Ric Latina Project - Raised In Muddy Water

  • Ivy Ford - Time To Shine

Rock Blues Album

  • Walter Trout - We're All In This Together

  • Albert Castiglia - Up All Night

  • Tinsley Ellis - Winning Hand

  • Tommy Castro & The Painkillers - Stompin' Ground

  • Ghost Town Blues Band - Backstage Pass

  • Savoy Brown - Witchy Feelin'

Acoustic Blues Album

  • Curtis Salgado and Alan Hager - Rough Cut

  • Doug MacLeod - Break The Chain

  • Mitch Woods - Friends Along The Way

  • Daniel Eriksen - Narrative Boogie

  • Sonny Landreth - Recorded Live In Lafayette

  • Sunny Lowdown - Down Loaded

Live Blues Recording

  • Sonny Landreth - Recorded Live In Lafayette

  • John Mayall - Three For The Road

  • Ghost Town Blues Band - Backstage Pass

  • Muddy Waters - Live At Rockpalast

  • Nick Schnebelen - Live In Kansas City

  • Casey Hensley - Live Featuring Laura Chavez

Historical Or Vintage Recording

  • Muddy Waters - Live At Rockpalast

  • Luther Allison Box Set

  • Johnny Nicholas - Too Many Bad Habits

  • Paul Delay – Live at Notodden '97

  • Reverend Raven & The CSAB - My Life – Twentieth Anniversary

New Artist Debut Album

  • Patrick Recob - Perpetual Luau

  • Ben Levin - Ben's Blues

  • Heather Newman - Burn Me Alive

  • Casey Hensley - Live Featuring Laura Chavez

  • Orphan Jon - Abandoned No More

  • Ilya Portnov Strong Brew

Blues Band

  • The Nick Moss Band featuring Dennis Gruenling

  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats

  • The Cash Box Kings

  • Ghost Town Blues Band

  • Welch Ledbetter Connection

  • Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin' Altar Boys featuring Westside Andy

Male Blues Artist

  • Victor Wainwright

  • Chis Cain

  • Walter Trout

  • Oscar Wilson

  • Kid Ramos

  • Benny Turner

Female Blues Artist

  • Danielle Nicole

  • Shaun Murphy

  • Samantha Fish

  • Bettye LaVette

  • Beth Hart

  • Karen Lovely

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

  • Ben Levin

  • Joyann Parker

  • Orphan Jon

  • Ivy Ford

  • Heather Newman


Search By Category

Sponsored by

The Kansas City Blues News is a free publication